tricksstar.blogg.se

Why do i have type password for every mac software install
Why do i have type password for every mac software install













why do i have type password for every mac software install
  1. #Why do i have type password for every mac software install manual#
  2. #Why do i have type password for every mac software install windows 10#

I continue to tweak my OS… I continue to succumb to sleepless nights… And I really don’t know when it will end… A smart decision because this would prove to be no small task…Īs of writing this, I’m about 7–10 days in now.

#Why do i have type password for every mac software install windows 10#

Sidebar: If you are trying for a setup like this, be sure to verify your UEFI & secure boot settings (I recommend Google for this) or you’ll be repairing that MBR more than a few times.Īnyways, one or two sleepless nights later, I finally had Windows 10 and Ubuntu 16.04 dual-booting successfully! I then made the smart decision to get some sleep before I got to configuring my system (installing apps, configuring shortcuts, and otherwise making it as comfy as my Windows & Mac environments ever were). So, while I blamed my wife for jinxing me, this was clearly inevitable. Mind you, I’m installing a dual-boot setup with Windows 10 on the other side and a mix of NVMe & SATA drives. So, I continued to resurrect my Master Boot Record each time I ruined it with a failed Ubuntu installation (thank God for backups). Developing in Node & Docker on a VM or WSL is dreadfully slow (literally about 30% at best on I/O operations versus native Linux). So when I decided it was about time I made the switch and ran the full-fledged - in all its glory - Linux desktop environment (aka Ubuntu 16.04 w/ Unity), I said “No problem.” My wife said, “You know what’s going to happen, right?”Īnd I was already knee-deep anyways. Yeah, I might have SSHed into a cloud-hosted Linux machine every day for years or had Ubuntu 16.04 running in VirtualBox or Parallels, or a little Raspberry Pi rocking Ubuntu under my desk, but I never really used more than Apache, MySQL, PHP, Node, SSH, VNC… terminal stuff. What amazed me, though, is that I had never really worked & lived inside a Linux environment.

why do i have type password for every mac software install

One I’ve long regarded as perhaps the most important open-source project of all time. It’s really a remarkable piece of technology. Among those environments, Linux has actually been unavoidable. This piece is about the transition from mainstream OSes (Windows, Mac) to Linux as a software developer.Īs a developer, I had to learn to work with pretty much every environment just to survive. I just want you to know where I’m coming from. The gap is just so wide already that it will be ages before anyone catches up (although this isn’t ABSOLUTELY true, which I’ll get into more later).

why do i have type password for every mac software install

Of course, as a gamer, nothing will ever come close to Windows. I’ve also gamed on just about every one, too - I’m remembering the hundreds of hours of Snake I logged on my TI-83 in middle school. On all of these devices, I’ve written software, developed content, or hacked away on them in some way or another.

#Why do i have type password for every mac software install manual#

If the account has been setup to login with an iCloud Account, you can change the account to login with a Manual Password by accessing System Preferences > Users & Groups > Change Password.Īfter making the changes as applicable in your case, you should have no problem setting up your Mac to allow you to login without entering password.Courtesy My iPhone and Really Poor Lighting The solution in this case is to turn off FileVault by accessing System Preferences > Security & Privacy > FileVault.

why do i have type password for every mac software install

If you are having trouble setting up automatic login on your Mac, it is likely that you have the FileVault option enabled for that account or that particular account has been setup to login with an iCloud Account. The other option in such a case is to reboot your Mac and it will once again allow you to Login Automatically, without entering a password. This means that every time you Logout of your User Account or switch to a Different User Account, you will be required to enter your Login Password. Next, take a look at Automatic Login entry on the Users & Group screen, it should indicate the name of the Account that you had configured or allowed to login Automatically on your Mac (See image below)Īlthough the Automatic login feature allows you to Login Automatically when your Mac powers on, it will not log you in Automatically again if you logout of your User Account or switch to a different User Account. Next, click inside the Automatic Login option box and then select the User Account that you want your Mac to allow Automatic login when it powers on (See image below)ħ. Whenever you are prompted, enter the password for the Account that you have selected for Automatic login and click on the OK button.Ĩ. 5. Next click on the Login Options button, located at the lower left corner of the Users & Groups window.Ħ.















Why do i have type password for every mac software install